Taking Baby Steps with Kathy Freston

Kathy Freston is the well-known author of Veganist. She has appeared in Oprah and Ellen, among others. I was fortunate enough to receive an advance copy of her latest book, The Lean, which has a double meaning. It is a weight loss book, a road map to getting lean; but also to leaning towards more plant-based eating and away from animal-based products.

I’m not the hugest fan of dieting books. I do like the layout of the book, though; chapters broken out into days so you take little baby steps to change rather than a scary, drastic overhaul.

Since I’m already lean and I already lean towards veganism, I slipped back to the Appendix to the nearly 70 pages worth of recipes. I’d never considered having quinoa, a fairly new food to me in the last year, for breakfast, which makes me wonder what other tips Freston has up her sleeves.

The Lean is available March 27, 2012.
I like how simple the ingredients are (including cinnamon, not pictured below); pretty much all of which I had around already. I also enjoyed that the recipe makes two bowls, so now I have breakfast for tomorrow too.

A few quick tips:

  • The recipe calls for almond milk, though; I had on hand Sunsational Sunflower milk, which I feel worked just as well as almond would have.
  • Additionally, if you don’t have agave nectar, I tried this with Pure Maple Syrup and it still tasted great. Maple syrup and agave have similar amounts of calories.
  • Don’t nix this just cause you don’t like apples or walnuts. Use a fruit or nuts you do like instead.

For full ingredients and instructions, please check out Kathy’s new book.
For more with Kathy:

Leave a comment